"There are two means of refuge from the misery of life — music and cats." - Albert Schweitzer

Leoš Janáček

Leoš Janáček was a Czech composer and folklorist. He was inspired by Moravian and other Slavic folk music to create an original, modern musical style.
Until 1895 he devoted himself mainly to folkloristic research and his early musical output was influenced by contemporaries such as Antonín Dvořák. His later, mature works incorporate his earlier studies of national folk music in a modern, highly original synthesis, first evident in the opera Jenůfa, which was premiered in 1904 in Brno. The success of Jenůfa (often called the "Moravian national opera") at Prague in 1916 gave Janáček access to the world's great opera stages. Janáček's later works are his most celebrated. They include operas such as Káťa Kabanová and The Cunning Little Vixen, the Sinfonietta, the Glagolitic Mass, the rhapsody Taras Bulba, two string quartets, and other chamber works. Along with Antonín Dvořák and Bedřich Smetana, he is considered one of the most important Czech composers.

Featured on

Herbert Schuch
Asterope Ensemble
Janáček, Piano Works
Olena Kushpler
Piano and String Quintets
Janacek String Quartet
Hannes Minnaar
Janáček - Solo Piano
Thomas Adès
The Great War Centenary
Michael Foyle | Maksim Stsura
Calidore Quartet
The Choir of St John's College, Cambridge
Oboe & Piano
Viola Wilmsen & Kimiko Imani
The Kreutzer Sonata & Intimate Letters
Norwegian Chamber Orchestra
Sonatas for Violin and Piano
Simone Lamsma & Robert Kulek
Complete Piano Works
Cathy Krier
From the Street
Ivana Gavrić
Melodies of Love and Death - Opera Senza Parole
Osiris Trio
The String Quartets
Raphael Quartet
Nieuw Sinfoniett - Lev Markiz - St. Petersburg
Nieuw Sinfonietta Amsterdam, Lev Markiz