Challenge Records Int. Logo
"Without music, life would be a blank to me." - Jane Austen

Christopher Gunning is a British composer of music for films, television and the concert hall. He has composed 13 symphonies, numerous concertos and other concert works, and a large number of scores for films and television dramas, including Agatha Christie’s ‘Poirot,’ La Vie en Rose, Middlemarch, Cold Lazarus, Rebecca, Under Suspicion, Firelight, The Big Battalions, Wild Africa, When the Whales Came and Porterhouse Blue. He has won 4 BAFTA and 3 Ivor Novello Awards, and BASCA’s prestigious Gold Badge Award.

In his concert music he has developed an individual yet approachable, colourful, and highly expressive language which frequently gives his music a strongly dramatic and emotional flavour. In film, he has worked on a wide variety of productions, ranging from period to contemporary dramas and wildlife films. In a career spanning some 40 yeas he has worked in just about every musical area; he loves working with orchestras, both as composer and conductor, and is equally at home with computers.

Featured on

Concerto for Guitar and Orchestra, Concerto for Clarinet and String Orchestra, Concertino for Flute and Small Orchestra
Christopher Gunning
Symphony No. 5, String Quartet No. 1
Christopher Gunning
Symphonies Nos. 6 & 7, Night Voyage
Christopher Gunning
Violin Concerto, Cello Concerto & Birdflight
Christopher Gunning
Christopher Gunning - Symphonies Nos 2, 10 & 12
Christopher Gunning