"The music is not in the notes, but in the silence between." - Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Luigi Boccherini

On the 28th of May, 2005, it was exactly 200 years ago that the Italian composer Luigi Boccherini died in Madrid (Spain was his second fatherland). While coming from the land of opera, perhaps ironically he became the most important 'Latin' composer in chamber music. His noble and intelligent style might be less sparkling than Haydn's or Mozart's, it is nonetheless characterised by a love for details. His 'invention' was the string quintet (two violins, viola and two cellos), of which he composed over 140. Besides that, he also composed about 100 string quartets, 60 string trios, cello concertos and symphonies.  

Featured on

Raphaël Feye | Karski Quartet
Fiesta Boccherini
The Northern Consort
Arie da Concerto
Capriola Di Gioia
Simca Heled Live II
Simca Heled
Italian concertos & sonatas
Lucia Swarts
Kiss The Guitar Player
Cello Sonatas
Lucia Swarts