"There are two means of refuge from the misery of life — music and cats." - Albert Schweitzer

Alban Berg

Alban Berg was an Austrian composer. Berg studied from 1904 to 1910 under Arnold Schoenberg and together with his teacher and fellow student Anton Webern he is part of the Second Viennese School. Berg married with Helene Nahowski (1885-1976), a singer who was a daughter from Anna Nahowski and, allegedly, Emperor Franz Joseph I of Austria.

At first, Berg applied a free atonality, but later he started developing strict twelve tone techniques and combined these to a style which, despite its expressionistic character, reminds of the Late Romantic music of Gustav Mahler

Featured on

Berg: String Quartet - Webern: Langsamer Satz - Schoenberg: String Quartet No. 2
Heath Quartet
Sure Eloff
Jugendlieder von Alban Berg
Steven Kimbrough
Dirty Minds
Olivia Vermeulen / Jan Philip Schulze
Deep in a dream
Raoul Steffani | Gerold Huber
Nocturnal Variations
Ruby Hughes | Joseph Middleton
From Vienna
London Conchord Ensemble
Julia Bentley
Piano - 20th Century (180g)
Cathy Krier
Piano - 20th Century
Cathy Krier
Fin de Siècle- Lieder of the beginning 20th c
Anke Vondung / Christoph Berner
Quartet Op. 13 / Lyric Suite
Tetzlaff Quartett
Beethoven: Violin Concertos
Antje Weithaas / Stavanger Symfoniorkester
Schöne Welt, wo bist Du?
Julia Kleiter / Michael Gees
Open Your Eyes
Katherine Broderick / Malcolm Martineau
In Memoriam Theo Bruins (1929-1993)
Theo Bruins