Challenge Records Int. Logo
"There are two means of refuge from the misery of life — music and cats." - Albert Schweitzer

The Netherlands Radio Chamber Orchestra

Critically acclaimed as one of the world’s foremost chamber orchestras, the Netherlands Radio Chamber Orchestra occupies a special place within the boundaries of the rich musical landscape in The Netherlands. Forty strong in number, the ensemble constitutes the perfect vehicle for the performance of the Viennese Classics: Mozart, Haydn and Beethoven. The orchestra’s dedication to the classics is matched by its equally passionate and longstanding commitment to contemporary music. For just under six decades, the Netherlands Radio Chamber Orchestra has made a persuasive case for new music and has been awarded numerous distinctions for its eloquent renditions of challenging compositions.
To reflect its dual allegiance to the music of both past and present  masters, the Netherlands Radio Chamber Orchestra opted for a unique system of dual chief- conductors: the world’s leading contemporary proponent, Peter Eötvös took on his position  in 1994 and Frans Brüggen, a groundbreaking force in the authentic performance movement, joined in 2001. Frans Brüggen  is responsible for historically informed performances of the Baroque, Classical and early Romantic repertoire. Thanks to Peter Eötvös the orchestra has gained international recognition as a specialist ensemble for modern and avant-garde music appearing at venues ranging from its home base in the Concertgebouw  and Vredenburg concert halls (Netherlands) and at modern music festivals from Warschau and Donaueschingen to the Budapest Spring Festival.
The Netherlands Radio Chamber Orchestra was disbanded in 2005 and restructured under the name Radio Kamer Filharmonie.

Featured on

Here Trilogy
Netherlands Radio Chamber Orchestra
Willem van Otterloo
Netherlands Radio Chamber Orchestra
Johann Wilhelm Wilms
Radio Chamber Orchestra
Piano Concertos Nos. 19 & 20
Nikolai Lugansky / Netherlands Radio Chamber Orchestra
Live At The Concertgebouw
Nelly Miricioiu
Ida Gotkovsky: Variations Pathétiques pur Saxophone alto et Orchestra à cordes
Ed Bogaard / Radio Kamer Orkest Hilversum / Editions Musicales Transatl. Paris